The Writing Process

Good morning, you lovely people!

So as I intimated earlier this week (or was it late last week?) I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo and as I also intimated earlier this week/late last week, what started as an exciting foray into the world of deadlines has devolved into the insecure questioning of the universe and all the glorious neuroses that come from being a writer.

Every writer has his/her process and of course, I am no exception. I write freehand, usually while smoking (cigarettes–equal parts killer and life-saver…though in fairness, the life-saving aspect is usually other people), then type it out in silence or, if I’m feeling truly masochistic, using Dr Wicked’s Write or Die (if you’re a writer and you haven’t discovered this site yet, try before you buy…trust me). Once on the proverbial page–aka, the screen–I do a quick edit then, because I have no impulse control, I usually post.

Which is why you’ll probably see a lot of errors in my blog posts. Editing? What editing?

With NaNoWriMo, however, I can’t really post it, as it’s a continuously shifting entity of a novel. So it sits, unread by anyone other than me, on my laptop. Which is real bummer, to be honest, because I adore feedback.

And by feedback, I mean unmitigated praise. But I digress…

So I’m wondering, all you fine people reading this (all 2 of you), if you want me to post little snippets of my writing here, on this blog, where everyone and their mother can read it if they have half a mind to look for it. Would this appeal to you? Would you provide feedback (constructive criticism, really…unmitigated praise optional but definitely appreciated)?

Obviously, since this novel will have some spicy elements to it, I’m not going to post everything, but little bits of description, some dialogue…anything that I feel like I can share without pissing off too many people.

So, if you’d like this blog to be more than just my rambling musings and include some of my purposeful musings, let me know.

Can’t wait to hear from ya!

– A-D

Standard

Leave a Reply

